CCHS receives ExxonMobil $500 Grant

(From Left to Right) Penny Brasher, Cagle's Corner; Shane Burton, CCHS Principal; Jo Johnson, Johnson's Oil Company

From School Reports

Choctaw County High School received a $500 dollar grant from the ExxonMobil Educational Alliance program to support the school. Johnson’s Oil Company, GOC Ltd, and Cagle’s Corner worked with school officials to secure the grant. The grants … Read more

Multi-task this


Submitted by Jan Ballard, Mississippi State University Extension–Choctaw County

In an age of microwaves, Twitter, iPads, instant messages and not even having to leave your house to buy everything from groceries to appliances, multi-tasking has become very important as well … Read more

Junior FFA attends retreat


From School Reports

Eight Choctaw County Junior FFA members attended the annual FFA Junior Retreat Friday, January 8th through Saturday, January 9th along with other Junior FFA members from across the state at the C.M. Brewer FFA Center in Raymond, … Read more

Chargers bounce back strong rom first loss

Photos by Noah Siano
Senior Danny Woodward sets up a play for his team.

By Austin Bishop
Choctaw Plaindealer

Things didn’t go well for the Choctaw County High School boys basketball team on Friday night, as the Chargers picked up their first loss on the season, falling to visiting Choctaw Central 76-49.

But the … Read more

WES Chargers in Charge

Students are chosen based on the character trait for the month which was caring.  Pictured left to right.  Front Row: Miley Dossett, Zasmin Hawthorne, Kaylee White, Maddox Reeves, … Read more

Tobacco Quitline provides personalized services

From Press Reports

Barry Mason, a paramedic for Choctaw County EMS, started using smokeless tobacco at age 13. Before he knew it, he was hooked. He tried to kick the habit dozens of times, but always fell short. At age … Read more