Election set for November 3

By Chuck Bailey
The Choctaw Plaindealer

The election for numerous county, legislative and state officials will be this Tuesday, November 3. Polls will open at 7 a.m. and remain open until 7 p.m.
Choctaw County still has several contested races to be decided.

In State District races, Senate District 15, incumbent Republican Gary Jackson will face Democrat, Cecil Simmons.
District 35 State House of Representatives is incumbent Joey Hood, republican, will face democrat, Patrick Warner.
Choctaw County-wide elections, are the Circuit Clerk’s race, a term left vacant by the illness of democrat Peggy Miller, will see republican, Amy Burdine face democrat, Robin Fulce Sheedy.
Choctaw County Superintendent of Education race has incumbent Stewart Glen Beard, Jr., democrat against republican, Paul “Stacey” Johnson.
In Choctaw County district races, in District 1 Supervisors race vacated by the retirement of Archie Collins, Derek Hunt, republican will face Joey Stephenson, democrat.
District 2 also had a retirement of Larry McClain and now Robert “Bobby” Knight, republican is going against democrat, Greg Fondren.
In District 3, republican Greg King will face incumbent Chris McIntire a democrat.
For Choctaw County Justice Court Judge Post 1, William “Andy” Stephenson, democrat is against Robin J. Stevens a republican.
For Constable Post 1, Billy Dobbs, Jr., republican faces democrat, Thomas Raybourn.
In a hotly discussed initiative race, Initiative 42 has seen a lot of controversy over the election season as well as confusion about on the meanings and results of the ballot measures. Some of the confusion stems from the fact that voters will mark in two places your choice either in favor of, or against, Initiative Measure #42 and/or Alternative Measure #42A.
Initiative Measure #42 Ballot Title: Should the State be required to provide for the support of an adequate and efficient system of free public schools?
Ballot Summary: Initiative Measure #42 would protect each child’s fundamental right to educational opportunity through the 12th grade by amending Section 201 of the Mississippi Constitution to require that the State must provide and the legislature must fund an adequate and efficient system of free public schools. This initiative would also authorize the chancery courts of this State to enforce this section with appropriate injunctive relief.
Mississippi Constitution Section 201. Educational opportunity for public school children: “To protect each child’s fundamental right to educational opportunity, the State shall provide for the establishment, maintenance and support of an adequate and efficient system of free public schools. The chancery courts of this State shall have the power to enforce this section with appropriate injunctive relief.”
Alternative Measure #42A Ballot Title: Should the Legislature provide for the establishment and support of effective free public schools without judicial enforcement?
Ballot Summary: This constitutional amendment is proposed as a legislative alternative measure to Initiative Measure No. 42 and would require the Legislature to provide, by general law, for the establishment, maintenance and support of an effective system of free public schools.
Mississippi Constitution Section 201: “The Legislature shall, by general law, provide for the establishment, maintenance and support of an effective system of free public schools. (See full ballots in today’s editon).
Persons must be 18 years of age and a registered voter in order to vote. Every qualified Mississippi elector is entitled to vote regardless of race, creed, color or disability. No one may refuse a person the right to vote if that person is legally entitled to vote. No voter shall be threatened, intimidated or paid to vote by any person.
Voters whose names do not appear on the poll book or who do not have an acceptable form of photo ID are entitled to vote by affidavit ballot. Acceptable forms of photo ID are: A driver’s license, government issued photo ID card, United States passport, an employee identification card, firearms license, student photo ID issued by an accredited Mississippi university, college or community/junior college, United States military ID, tribal photo ID, any other photo ID issued by any branch, department, agency or entity of the United States government or any State government or a Mississippi Voter Identification card. Voters who cast an affidavit ballot are entitled to receive written information at the time of voting on how to determine if the vote was counted and, if not, why not.
Voters who require assistance in marking the ballot because of disability, blindness or an inability to read or write are entitled to receive assistance from a person of the voter’s choice, excluding, however, the voter’s employer or union representative.
Polling Places – Choctaw County, MS
Here is a list of all polling places in Choctaw County, split into each district.
District 1 Polling Places
Chester: Chester Community Center, West road, Ackerman, MS
Bywy: Bywy Fire Dept., MS Hwy 9, Ackerman, MS
Fentress: Blanton’s Piano Store, MS Hwy 12, Ackerman, MS
District 2 Polling Places
Hebron: Corner of Hwy 9 & Hebron Road, Eupora, MS
Sherwood: Sherwood Community Center, MS Hwy 15, Mathiston, MS
Reform: Reform Fire Dept., Plainermill Road, Ackerman, MS
District 3 Polling Places
Kenego: District 3 County Barn, Weir, MS
French Camp: French Camp Fire Dept., MS Hwy 413, French Camp, MS
West Weir: Weir School Gymnasium, Weir Attendance Center, Weir, MS
District 4 Polling Places
East Weir: Weir Fire Dept., Ann St, Weir, MS
Panhandle: Panhandle Fire Dept., Weir Panhandle Road, Weir, MS
Southwest Ackerman: Ackerman Elementary School, MS Hwy 15, Ackerman, MS
District 5 Polling Places
District 5: Ackerman Community Center, College Street, Ackerman, MS.
See Sample Ballots page 11