Cochran, Nunnelee winners in general election

By Daniel Brunty
The Choctaw Plaindealer

The 2014 General Election saw a number of positions up for grabs, including a U.S. Senate seat, a 1st Congressional District seat, as well as a number of local races for Chancery and Circuit Court judges.

In what can be only considered as an “easy” victory, U.S. Senator Thad Cochran won his seventh term over challengers Travis Childers and Shawn O’Hara during the 2014 General Election held on Nov. 4.

With the race being so uncontested for Cochran, the Associated Press and other media outlets had declared him the winner just minutes after the polls closed at 7 p.m. Cochran not only received the support from the whole state, he also received a huge percentage of the vote in Choctaw County as well.

The official results from all 13 precincts in Choctaw County show that Cochran received 66.3 percent of the votes (1521 votes), followed by Childers with 31 percent (713 votes) and O’Hara with 1.8 percent (43 votes).

In the 1st Congressional District race, incumbent Alan Nunnelee easily retained his position by securing 71 percent of the votes in Choctaw County (1581 votes). Runner-up to Nunnelee was Ron E. Dickey with 24 percent of the vote (546 votes), followed by Danny Bedwell with 2.4 percent (53 votes) and Lajena alley with .73 percent (16 votes).

Another item that residents saw on their ballot is the referendum regarding hunting and fishing in Mississippi, labeled “Amendment No. 1, House Concurrent Resolution 30”. This referendum would create a constitutional right to hunt, fish and harvest game species throughout Mississippi.

Choctaw County residents were for the resolution as 94 percent (2073) voted “YES” to the resolution, while 5.8 percent (129 votes) were against the resolution.

As for the local races for Chancery and Circuit judge positions, all candidates ran unopposed. Jimmy Maxwell will continue as judge for the Court of Appeals, District 1, Position 1. Judge Joseph Kilgore will continue to serve as Chancery Court 6 Chancery Court Judge for District 6, Place 1. Edward C. Fenwick will continue as Chancery Court Judge for Chancery Court 6, District 6, Place 2.

In the last two races, Joey Loper, Jr. will remain Circuit Court 5 Judge for District 5, Place 1, while Clarence E. Morgan, III will continue as Circuit Court 6 5 Judge for District 5, Place 2. Loper and Morgan ran unopposed.

For School Board District 5, Michael D. Thomas will serve another term on the board. He ran unopposed.