All-state baseball/softball teams announced

By Austin Bishop
The Choctaw Plaindealer

Ti’Quan Forbes of Columbia and Darby Bishop of Newton County were named Mr. Baseball and Miss Softball respectively by the Jackson Clarion-Ledger.
Forbes hit .427 with 12 doubles and 34 homers for Columbia as a senior. He is an Ole Miss signee. Bishop, a junior, went 21-0 on the mound with a 1.53 ERA, while hitting .621 with 17 doubles, nine triples, three homers and 44 RBIs as she led the Lady Cougars to the MHSAA Class 4A State Fast-Pitch Championship.
Joining Forbes on the Clarion-Ledger’s All-State Baseball first team are: catcher Blake Anderson of West Lauderdale; infielder Will Golsan of New Hope; junior infielder Austin Riley of Desoto Central; infielder Bobby Bradley of Harrison Central; outfielder Rudy Martin of Lewisburg; pitcher Taylor Stafford of New Hope; outfielder Clay Casey of DeSoto Central; outfielder Kirk McCarty of Oak Grove; pitcher Justin Steele of George County; pitcher Calder Mikell of Petal; and utility player Will Stokes of West Lauderdale.
Making the second team were: Taylor Braley of Oak Grove, Drew Crosby of DeSoto Central, Michael Davis of Clinton, Noah Hughes of Jackson Prep, Daniel Keating of Gulfport, Jake Mangum of Jackson Prep, Jamell Newson of Magnolia Heights, Konnor Pilkington of East Central, Javoris Redditt of Grenada, Houston Roth of Oxford, Kyle Smith of Petal, and Gage Teer of Brandon.
Joining Bishop on the Clarion-Ledger’s All-State Softball first team are: junior infielder Ashton Lampton of Newton County; junior infielder Hailey Lunderman of Neshoba Central who was 2013 Miss Softball; first baseman Tylesha Davis of Northwest Rankin; junior catcher Reagan Dykes of Presbyterian Christian; junior pitcher Nicole Fullilove of South Panola; infielder Chelsea Gates of Houston; infielder Parris Ladner of Northwest Rankin; outfielder Paige McKinney of DeSoto Central; sophomore pitcher Adriana Morgan of Lake Cormorant; seventh-grade pitcher Aspen Wesley of Neshoba Central; catcher Samantha Papp of Oak Grove; infielder D.J Sanders of New Hope; junior outfielder Maeleah Smith of Wayne County; and outfielder Kalyn Watts of Oak Grove.
Making the second team were: Madison Burge of Harrison Central, Olivia Dick of Northwest Rankin, Mahalia Gibson of Oak Grove, Heath Griffith of Lake Cormorant, Jay Harris of St. Martin, Hailee Kolwyck of Southaven, Lexi Malone of Petal, Simone McKinney of Harrison Central, Haylee Morse of Madison Central, Kristin Qualls of Madison Central, Kaleigh Tackett of Nettleton, Sabrina Turner of St. Patrick, Sarah Van Schiak of Petal, and Elizabeth Zorich of St. Patrick.