Local athletes chosen for MAC All-State teams

By Austin Bishop

The Choctaw Plaindealer


Five French Camp Academy Panthers and four Choctaw County Chargers were chosen for their respective Mississippi Association of Coaches All-State Football Teams that were released last week.

Quarterback Jesse Hosket and athlete Hagan Box represented FCA on the MAC Class 1A first-team offense, while teammates Cortez Johnson and Jevante McAdory were chosen first-team defense. French Camp’s Sam Gould was the second team place-kicker.

Choctaw County’s Paxton Sims was chosen as an offensive guard on the MAC 3A first team offense, while Taboris Lee was chosen as a defensive tackle on the first team defense. T.C. Hatchett was chosen as a cornerback for the second team defense, while Jamarcus Bradley was chosen as an athlete on the second team.

Hosket hit on 158-of-252 passes for 2,423 yards and 25 touchdowns on the season, while rushing of 601 yards and 15 scores on 180 attempts.

Box had 122 carries for 619 yards and eight touchdowns for FCA, while catching 44 passes for 484 yards and three scores.

McAdory, selected as a defensive tackle, had 110 tackles on the year, including 19 for a loss, while Johnson, a defensive end, had 109 tackles, including14 tackles for a loss. Gould hit on 55-of-63 extra point attempts, while making six-of-eight field goal attempts, including a 42-harder in French Camp’s 27-6 win over Smithville in the MHSAA Class 1A State Championship Game.

Sims (6-1 285) helped anchor the Choctaw County offensive line this season, while Lee was in on 61 tackles for the Chargers and recovered three fumbles. Hatchett made 36 tackles and picked off 11 passes for CCHS, while Bradley picked off two passes and had 21 tackles on defense, while rushing for 1,489 yards and 22 touchdowns on offense.

French Camp Academy’s Nathan Wright was chosen as 1A Coach of the Year, while Tevin Moore of Stringer was Offensive player of the year and Antavius Moody of Coffeeville war tabbed as Defensive Player of the Year.

M.C. Miller of Louisville was named 3 Coach of the year while Devin Voorhies of Wilkinson County was Offensive Player of the Year and Jeremy Sangster of Louisville was Defensive Player of the Year.