Principals change in CCSD

By Amanda McBride

The Choctaw Plaindealer


Principals at the Choctaw County School District have changed due to recent resignations.

Choctaw County High School will have a different principal and assistant principal.

Corey Blaylock, who was principal at Ackerman High School, resigned in the June 25 Choctaw County School Board special meeting. After receiving applications and interviewing, the School Board approved to hire Shane Burton as CCHS principal, in their July 16 meeting. They also approved Cheryl Doss as CCHS assistant principal and Alternative School director. Those two moves leave Weir Elementary School without a principal.

In the July 16 School Board meeting, the board approved Robbie Denson as principal for WES. She was the assistant principal at AHS and alternative school director. But then after a special called board meeting on July 17, the board moved Denson.

“A special called board meeting was held on Wednesday to accept resignations.  As a result the following changes occurred: Robbie Denson principal at FCE and Anthony McGee principal of WES,” said Glen Beard, superintendent.

Stacey Johnson was the principal at FCE.

Before the special meeting, McGee served as the district’s physical plant manager. But before that position, he served as principal at Weir Attendance Center.

Only one change of principals will take place at Ackerman Elementary School. Maureen Power was hired in the May 24 School Board special meeting as Special Education director. She was the assistant principal at AES. Gina Smith was hired as AES assistant principal in the June 25 School Board special meeting.

Glen Blaine will remain principal at AES.