Ackerman Election set for June 4

By Amanda McBride

The Choctaw Plaindealer


The Town of Ackerman Municipal Election will be held June 4.

Residents of the Town of Ackerman should go to Town Hall between 7 a.m.-7 p.m. to vote.

Candidates for Mayor of Ackerman are Dick Cain and Dale Reid.

Cain currently serves as Mayor and Reid currently serves as Ward 4 alderman.

Candidates for Ward 4 Alderman are Lynn Scribner and Billy Gannan.

The other aldermen seats are not being contested. The current aldermen are the only ones to qualify for those seats and will serve another term. They are:

Ward 1 Alderman-Willie Miller, Ward 2 Alderman-Tommy Curtis, Ward 3 Alderman-George Rooks and Alderman at Large-Carl “Barney” Phelps.

Absentee ballots for the election can be picked up with at the local city clerk and can be cast until noon on June 1.

Voters can also mail in their ballots but they must be received no later than June 3.

Persons may visit the town hall during regular operating hours to cast an absentee ballot.

The clerk’s office will also be open on Saturday, May 25 and Saturday, June 1 from 8 a.m. til noon.