School Board holds lengthy meeting

By Amanda McBride

The Choctaw Plaindealer


The Choctaw County School Board set their budget hearing and approval dates in their May 13 meeting.

After a short discussion on dates and times, the board approved to have the required budget hearing on June 18 at 10 a.m. and the budget approval meeting on June 25 at 10 a.m. Both meetings will be held in the conference room at Central Office.

The School Board also approved to update Board Policy DJD and the amended FY 2013 Consolidated Federal Programs Application.

Before approving the consent agenda, they pulled out two items to discuss. It was explained that French Camp Academy can spend their share of the Neglected and Delinquent money how they wish.

“We have no say so on how they spend the money,” said Superintendent Glen Beard.

The money is only administered through the Choctaw County School District.

The board then approved the recommendation of certified tutors for FCA to be paid from FCA N and D money.

A couple questions were then asked about the hiring of summer workers and why there were no females hired. Beard said the summer workers are the principals’ recommendations. He added that the jobs are advertised and everyone went through an interview process.

The School Board then approved summer workers pending paperwork and clear background checks.

The next matter was to approve the resignation of Kelsey Lawrence as high school cheer coach, which was approved. School Board Member Mike Thomas then left the room before the board approved to change Crystal Thomas, his daughter in law, from junior high cheer sponsor to high school cheer sponsor.

The board also approved Chelsea Collins as the junior high cheer sponsor.

In the consent agenda, the School Board also approved to change the name of Weir Attendance Center to Weir Elementary School. They also approved to change the name of Ackerman High School to comply with the Federal Court Ruling which is Choctaw County High School.

The school colors were also approved for CCHS, in the consent agenda. The schools colors will be red, white and blue, based from the recommendation by the Transition Advisory Committee, according to Beard.

At the end of the board meeting, the School Board held three executive sessions on student matters. The first session took place within a few minutes. The second session was approximately 30 minutes with a Choctaw County Sheriff Deputy (that was already attending the meeting) entering the boardroom after loud voices were heard outside the room. The third executive session began at approximately 8 p.m. and ended 15 minutes later.

After being asked if any action was taken in executive session, Beard stated, “The board unanimously voted to uphold our policy on page 27 of the Student Handbook that deals with Senior Awards.”

This policy concerns the valedictorian and salutatorian.

“VALEDICTORIAN Student completing the IHL courses and maintaining the highest four year average while attending that school for the entire eleventh and twelfth grade years*,” states the Student Handbook.

“SALUTATORIAN Student completing the IHL courses and maintaining the second highest four year average while attending that school for the entire eleventh and twelfth grade years.*”

“SUBJECT AREA AWARDS The outstanding student in their respective courses of study will receive an award, **” from the Choctaw County School District Student Handbook.

The Choctaw County School Board approved the following in their consent agenda:

-Approve School Trips

French Camp Elementary-4th and 5th grades to Starkville

Ackerman AEST/FFA to Summer Leadership Conference in Raymond, MS

Ackerman FFA to State FFA Convention in Starkville, MS (MSU)

-Approve Workshop/Conference Requests:

Ronda Huffman to MS ACTE Conference at Hinds Community College

Morgan Scribner to Southeastern States Pupil Transportation Conference.

Michelle Larabee to MS Principal Evaluation System Training in Pearl, MS.

Michelle Larabee to MIS Data Convention in Biloxi, MS.

Michelle Larabee to MASS in Biloxi, MS.

Michelle Larabee to MAFEPD Summer Conference in Jackson, Ms.

Dudley Vance to Methods of Ag Power Machinery (Curriculum Revision) at EMCC.

Sharon James to Pro-start Level 1 in Atlanta, GA.

Kim Thomas to VIP Training in Verona, MS

Leigh Johnson to CCSS Boot Camp in Pearl, MS.

Francesca McGee to MSIS Data Conference 2013 in Biloxi, MS

-Recommendation from Mr. Scribner concerning Elsie Edwards’ supplement increase.

-Extended school year employees.

-Offering credit recovery classes with Gina Bishop as the teacher.

-Resignation from Tina McLendon as Colorguard Instructor.

-Correction to salary for Ricardo Davidson.

-Invitation for bank bids for the keeping of Choctaw County School Funds.

-Recommendation for Mr. McGee to replace copier at CCCTC.

-Recommendation to hire Brad Mitchell as Driver Education Instructor for summer 2013.

-Dr. Larabee’s request to add one and a half Gifted teacher units for the 2013-2014 school year in compliance with state recommendation.

-Salary corrections for Francesca McGee, Lelia Chandler and Kim Maxwell due to oversights.

-Breakfast and lunch price changes for 2013-2014 SY.

-2013-2014 Alternative Program Procedure/Plan.

-Resignation from Chastity Whittington from AHS.

-Contract adjustment for Keith Jeffries due to the consolidation of library materials.

-Preliminary Consolidated Federal Programs Application FY 2014.

-Bidding out disposed inventory from CCCTC.

-Request from Mr. Blaine to swap teaching positions of Mrs. Collins to 3rd grade and Mrs. McClain to 4th grade.

-Teachers for the After School FISH Program at AES for the 2013-2014 school year.

-Request for M to M transfer for the 2013-2014 school year.

-Request from Mr. Clark to delete outstanding accounts payable checks.

-Corrections to Angie Stevenson’s salary based on the cafeteria pay school.

-Scholarship Name Change.

In the financial docket the board approved:

Docket of claims.

Teacher substitute report.

Absentee report.

Financial statements.

The next regularly scheduled School Board meeting will be June 10 at 7 p.m. in the boardroom at Central Office.