Local DYW program approaching

By Press Reports

On March 16th the 37th Choctaw County Distinguished Young Woman,
formerly Junior Miss Program, will take place in Ackerman at the Ty
Cobb Complex on the campus of Ackerman High School. The show will
begin at 6:30 p.m. with admission $8.

Eight participants will be competing in this year’s program.

See next week’s edition of the Choctaw Plaindealer to learn more
about each participant.

Distinguished Young Women, formally America’s Junior Miss, is the
largest and oldest scholarship program for high school girls in the
nation. More than 2 million dollars in scholarships is presented
each year at the local, state, and national level of Distinguished
Young Women. The central focus of Distinguished Young Women is, and
always has been, to recognize and reward excellence in education.
The evaluation process is consistent at the local, state and national
levels. The mission is to provide scholarship opportunities to
outstanding, college-bound high school girls, and to encourage
personal development in all young people through its “Be Your Best
Self” outreach program. The Distinguished Young Women Program is made
possible by its national sponsors: City of Mobile, Mobile County,
Spanx Foundation, Encore Rehabilitation Inc., Mobile Gas, Alabama
Power Foundation, Regions Bank, and Master Boat Builders. On March
16th, a young lady will be selected to represent Choctaw County at
the State Program in Meridian this summer. The winner of the the
Mississippi program will then compete in the Distinguished Young
Women of America Program next June in Mobile, AL. This year’s
National Finals will be held in Mobile, Ala. June 27-29. For more
information, please visit the website at www.DistinguishedYW.org

Choctaw County held its first Junior Miss Program in 1976. Sponsored
then by the Civettes, and now by the 20th Century Club, the program
couldn’t happen without the dedication of the volunteers. Many hours
of preparation go into this program.

The committee consists of Ginny Lucas, Chairman and Courtney Coleman,
Co-Chairman; Program Book/Ads Chairman-Tinker Forrester, Event
Coordinator/Interviews-Susan Shurden, Decorations/Set Design-Marina
Loper, and Judges’ Chairman – JoAnne Reid. All 20th Century Club
members help to make this program a success. Members are Chellie
Cardonie, Shelia Lance, Merle McLeod, Donna McKay, Johnie Power,
Cherrie Robison, and Belinda Vowell.

Last year’s winner, Alison Cooper received $3,500 at the local
program, $500 at the Mississippi DYW program, and will utilize her
$1,000 Mississippi State University Scholarship this fall.