Education notes

Choctaw County Residents Among Ole Miss Freshmen to Receive 2012-13 Scholarships

The following University of Mississippi freshmen were awarded scholarships for the 2012-2013 academic year based on criteria that included academic and leadership credentials:

Dylan Patrick Bagwell Ackerman MS 39735 Sumners Grant Full Time $5000 Christina Joy Trotter Ackerman MS 39735 Sumners Grant Full Time $5000 Choctaw County Resident Among Ole Miss December 2012 Candidates for Degrees Jessica Lynne Dickson of French Camp MS 39745 is among 829 December 2012 candidates for degrees at the University of Mississippi.

These include 623 bachelor’s degrees, 132 master’s degrees, 19 specialists, 38 doctorates and 17 juris doctorates. Commencement ceremonies for the December 2012 and May 2013 graduates are scheduled Saturday, May 11, 2013.

MSU Fall graduates Seven local students graduated from Mississippi State University in the 2012 fall term.

Honor graduates include all bachelor-degree candidates with exceptional scholastic averages and at least half the total required course hours earned at MSU. Their specific levels of recognition and the minimum required averages for each, based on a 4.0 scale, include: summa cum laude, 3.80; magna cum laude, 3.60; and cum laude, 3.40.

The academic honors are recorded on the graduates’ diplomas and permanent records, as well as in the commencement program.

Graduates: Derek Cutts, Ackerman, College of Business, BBA Marian Henson, Weir, College of Arts & Sciences, BS, Cum Laude Megan Ivy, Mathiston, College of Education, MS Jennie Mustin, Ackerman, College of Education, BS Akeba Shumaker, Ackerman, College of Arts & Sciences, BS Veronica Taylor, Mathiston, College of Education, BS, Cum Laude Lauren Vowell, McCool, College of Education, BS

MSU announces fall honor roll Mississippi State University announces the fall semester honor roll.

Students on the President’s List achieved a 3.80 or better grade- point average, based on a 4.0 scale, while completing at least 12 semester hours of course work with no incomplete grades or grades lower than a C.

Dean’s List students achieved a grade-point average between 3.5 and 3.79, based on a 4.0 scale, while completing at least 12 semester hours of course work with no incomplete grades or grades lower than a C.

President’s List: Treasure Box, French Camp Nicole Briones, Sturgis Sheila Carney, Ackerman Jennifer Cooper, Ackerman Jamey Cutts, Ackerman Charkelcy Docher, Weir Amanda Hunt, Ackerman Kenneth Jones, Ackerman Laura King, Ackerman Laurel Marsh, Eupora Brittany Martin, Weir Morgan McKnight, Weir Veronica Taylor, Mathiston Dean’s List Morgan Adcock, McCool Shantelle Hannah, McCool Marian Henson, Weir