New election commissioner, school board member elected

By Amanda McBride The Choctaw Plaindealer

After the final official results from the General Election, Choctaw County will have one new election commission and one new school board member.

Willie Mae Guillory was elected as the District 4 Election Commissioner. She ran unopposed. Current District 4 Election Commissioner is Lewis Wright, who did not run in this election.

The other election commissioners ran unopposed also and were re- elected to another term. They are District 1 Glynda Fulce, District 2 Charles Beck, District 3 Dorothy Anderson and District 5 Ouida Loper.

Laura Smith Gibbs was elected as the District 4 School Board Member. She ran unopposed. Current District 4 School Board Member Bertha Miller did not run in this election.

District 3 School Board Member Linda McDaniel ran unopposed and was also re-elected to serve another term.

All election commissioners and both school board members will begin their terms in January.

Choctaw native Josiah Coleman will serve as the next Mississippi Supreme Court Justice for District 3, Position 3. He won 58 percent or 209,127 votes total in District 3 to Richard “Flip” Phillips 42 percent or 149,439 votes.

Coleman took 80 percent of the total vote in Choctaw County and 70 percent in his current county of Pontotoc. He won at least 50 percent or more in almost every county in the entire district, including more than 60 percent in the surrounding counties of Webster, Winston and Oktibbeha.

Coleman will begin serving on the Supreme Court in January.

The Coleman family has a rich history of serving the public. Josiah is the son of Mississippi Court of Appeals Judge Thomas A. Coleman and the grandson of Governor and Fifth Circuit Judge J.P. Coleman, all of Choctaw County.

Josiah will join another Choctaw County native Justice David Chandler on the Mississippi Supreme Court.

Congressman Alan Nunnelee was re-elected to the U.S. House of Representatives for the First Congressional District. He won 61 percent of the total vote of the entire district to his major opponent Brad Morris’ 37 percent.

Nunnelee received 66 percent of the vote in Choctaw County along with 75 percent in Webster and 53 percent in Winston Counties.

U.S. Senator Roger Wicker was re-elected to the U.S. Senate with 57 percent of the total vote count. His major opponent Albert N. Gore, Jr. received 40 percent of the total vote.

In Choctaw County, Wicker received approximately 56 percent of the vote.

In the U.S. Presidential race, Mitt Romney won 54 percent of the vote in Choctaw County to President Barak Obama’s 45 percent.

President Barak Obama was re-elected as U.S. President after all the Electoral College votes were finalized for the entire country.