Election Day less than one week away

By Amanda McBride The Choctaw Plaindealer

Election Day, November 6, is less than one week away. Registered voters in Choctaw County are reminded to please vote at your precinct on Nov. 6. Polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. on November 6.

The Choctaw County Election Commissioners have announced that the U.S. Department of Justice approved Choctaw County to discontinue using the external printers from the voting machines.

“In June 2012 Choctaw County received approval from the U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, to discontinue using the external printers from the voting machines. Reasons for discontinuing the use of the external printers include: the printers are becoming obsolete and a shortage of repair parts; paper costs; paper jams which cause delays at the polls. The paper record is not a permanent record. Permanent election records are on file in both the Circuit Clerk’s Office (memory card and internal memory of the voting machines) and the Mississippi Secretary of State’s Office. More than one-half of Mississippi counties have previously received Department of Justice approval to permanently remove the external printers,” from a press release from the Choctaw County Election Commissioners.

Voters are reminded that they will NOT need to present identification in order to cast a ballot in the General Election on November 6. Peggy Miller, Choctaw County Circuit clerk, said the law is not in effect yet.

Tickets on the ballot for Choctaw County include the United States President, United States Senate, United States House of Representative-1st Congressional District and Supreme Court Justice District 3, Position 3 Justice. The county election commissioners and two school board seats are also on the ballot with all running unopposed.

Choices for the United States President include Barack Obama (Democrat), Mitt Romney (Republican), Virgil Goode (Constitution), Gary Johnson (Libertarian), Jill Stein (Green) and Barbara Dale Washer (Reform).

United States Senate candidates on the ballot are Albert N. Gore, Jr. (Democrat), Roger F. Wicker (Republican), Thomas Cramer (Constitution) and Shawn O’Hara (Reform).

Candidates for the US House of Representaives-1st Congressional District are Brad Morris (Democrat), Alan Nunnelee (Republican), Danny Bedwell (Libertarian), Jim R. Bourland (Constitution) and Chris Potts (Reform).

Choices for the Supreme Court Justice District 3, Position 3 are Josiah Dennis Coleman and Richard (Flip) Phillips. This seat is a nonpartisan judicial election.

Choctaw County voters will also see the county’s election commissioners on the ballot. Running unopposed is District 1-Glynda Fulce, District 2-Charles Beck, District 3-Dorothy Anderson, District 4-Willie Mae Guillory and District 5 Ouida Loper.

District 3 School Board member Linda McDaniel and Laura Smith Gibbs for District 4 School Board member are both running unopposed.