School board approves employee recommendations

By Amanda McBride The Choctaw Plaindealer

The Choctaw County School Board met April 10 after performing their annual visit of French Camp Elementary and Weir Attendance Center. The board pulled out then approved the transfer of a 16th section lease with the quitclaim deed one. They also adopted the updated Board Policy I. In the meeting, the board approved four personnel items separately due to the teachers being family of board members. Shuni Coffey as a certified teacher at Weir Attendance Center for the 2012-2013 school year after Beat 4 School Board Member Bertha Miller stepped out of the room. Kim McDaniel as a teacher at French Camp Elementary for the 2012-2012 school year after Beat 3 School Board Member Linda McDaniel stepped out of the room. Crystal Thomas as a teacher at Ackerman High School for the 2012-2012 school year after Beat 5 School Board Member Mike Thomas stepped out of the room. Resignation of Ricki Thomas Prewitt from FCE after School Board Member Linda McDaniel stepped out of the room. In the consent agenda the board approved: Employee recommendations with the exception of the individuals identified in discussion. WAC Senior class fundraiser. To add bus turnaround. CCCTC Local plan updates. Replacing the mail server. Family Medical Leave for Tammie Baxter. Change in graduation requirements policy. Attendance of Glen Blaine to the K-2 Common Core Follow-Up Conference in Pearl. Attendance of Angie Blake to the K-2 Common Core Follow-Up Conference in Pearl. Attendance of Keith Jefferies to the 7th Annual Advanced Placement Summer Institute in Starkville. Attendance of Dianne Chancellor to Methods of ICT II in Flowood. Attendance of Dorthy Murphy to Methods of ICT II Workshop. Attendance of Francesca McGee to the 2012 AABC Conference in Ridgeland. Attendance of Ronda Huffman to the 2012 MASA Annual Spring Leadership Conference in Jackson. Attendance of Morgan Scribner to MAPT Annual Conference in Jackson. The School Board approved the following attendance/field trips in the consent agenda: AHS FFA to the 2012 State FFA Contest Day at MSU. AHS Special Education class to Starkville. AHS JROTC to the Annual JROTC Cadet Leadership Challenge 2012 at Camp Shelby. Ackerman FFA to the National FFA Conference 360 in Raymond. AHS GED to HCC Attala Educational Center in Kosciusko to take the GED test. CCCTC HOSA to Starkville. Design Technology for Fashion and Interior to Tupelo. FCE 8th Grade class trip to Starkville. FCE 5th Grade to Arbor Day at the Red Hills Mine. FCE Beta Club (5th Grade) to the Buffalo Park in Tupelo. FCE for a train trip from Greenwood to Jackson. WAC Music JH to State Contest in Madison. WAC 2nd Grade to the Natural Science Museum in Jackson. Also in the consent agenda, the School Board approved the following Choctaw County School District personnel changes: The following substitutes pending paperwork and background checks: Rachel Tharp, Jennifer McGary and Ommie Ashford. Transfer of Virginia Johnson from AES to WAC for 2012-2012 school year. Transfer of Kylie Stanford from WAC to FCE for 2012-2012 school year. Resignation from Anthony McGee as full time bus driver and approve him as a substitute. The following resignations (due to retirement): Shirley Scott, Linda Busby, Deanie Graves, Donna Gazaway, all from AES, Ellen Turnipseed from WAC and Larry West from WAC. The following resignations: Amanda Carden, Billie Jean Fulton, Mark Bunn, Tyler Strickland, all from AHS and Col. Fredrick Brown from JROTC. In the financial agenda the board approved: Diesel bids and immediate payment of the diesel. Docket of claims. Teacher substitute report. Absentee report. Financial statements. Requests for fixed asset disposal. The next regular scheduled board meeting will be Tuesday, May 14. The board will meet at 5 p.m. at Ackerman High School then the Choctaw County Career and Technology Center at 6 p.m. for their annual inspection of the schools. The board will then meet at Central Office at 7 p.m. for their regular meeting.